Olivia Giacobetti LA Times (fair) | Agraia

Olivia Giacobetti

In case you missed it in the LA Times on March 6, 2011, there was a great profile the very beautiful perfumer Olivia Giacobetti. We like to keep tabs on all the folks involved with fragrance, not so much in a competitive way, but in a relative way. We all belong to the big fraternity of fragrance. Some folks make lovely scents for behind your ears and some folks like us make great scents for the home.

Olivia confirms some important points for us on fragrance:

Number 1) It evokes memory: “While studying classic perfumery, I sometimes was shocked to rediscover childhood memories. The first perfume I fell hard for was Kiehl’s Musk. I was six; my father brought some back from New York. It’s still the odor of America for me.”

Number 2) It tells a story: “I always imagine the perfume in my head, then I choose the ingredients and the quantities. Before starting, I need to dream about it, to tell myself its story and have an extremely precise idea of what it should be. Words help me to define its temperament, colors, texture, music, emotions.”

And number 3) Evocation of the familiar and the unusual mixed: “I write down my impressions and keep everything I come across in my travels. In Mali, I broke the bark of a yellow wood that tasted of quince, collected cooked seeds, burned rope; in Japan, I found soft rubber that smelled of Christmas and a neon pink ribbon that smelled like dolls; in Mexico, driftwood, fresh cactus and black corn. Large cities are kaleidoscopes of odors. Istanbul smells of roses and dust, New York of laundry fumes and cinnamon. Paris is electric heaters, fresh bread and wet sidewalks. Katmandu is dry woods and cucumber. Tokyo is grilled food, metal and plastic.”

Thank you Ms. Giacobetti for so beautifully stating what we so ardently believe.

